Thelonious Monk: Round Midnight: The Complete Blue Note Singles 1947-1952

Round Midnight: The Complete Blue Note Singles 1947-1952

Thelonious Monk

  • US $25.99  

  • Release Date 01 December 2014
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Double CD Album
Blue Note

Thelonious Monk’s first recordings in the late 1940s were for Blue Note Records and they signaled a new kind of Blue Note as the label was evolving from an outlet for boogie woogie and old time jazz into a flag-waver for hard bop. These recordings, which include the first version of Monk’s classic composition, “'Round Midnight” (originally known as "'Round About Midnight"), were released on a series of fifteen 78 RPM singles. Later, Monk’s sessions were re-compiled on 10-inch and 12-inch LPs, and this collection will present for the first time Monk’s Blue Note recordings in their original 78 RPM sequence of release, adding as bonus tracks the alternate takes that appeared on later LP and CD releases. In addition, ’Round Midnight includes nine tracks not available on any current reissues of Monk’s albums.


Disc 1
1. Thelonious
2. Suburban Eyes
3. ’Round About Midnight
4. Well You Needn't
5. Evonce
6. Off Minor
7. In Walked Bud
8. Epistrophy
9. Ruby My Dear
10. Evidence
11. Humph
12. Misterioso
13. All The Things You Are
14. I Should Care
15. I Mean You
16. Monk’s Mood
17. Who Knows
18. Nice Work If You Can Get It 19. April In Paris
20. Four In One
21. Straight No Chaser
22. Criss-Cross
23. Eronel
24. Ask Me Now
25. Willow Weep Me For Me

Disc 2
1. Skippy
2. Let’s Cool One
3. Hornin' In
4. Carolina Moon
Bonus tracks
5. Evonce alternate take
6. Suburban Eyes alternate take
7. Nice Work If You Can Get It alternate take
8. Ruby My Dear alternate take
9. Well You Needn’t alternate take
10. April In Paris alternate take
11. Introspection
12. Who Knows alternate take
13. I Should Care alternate take
14. Misterioso alternate take
15. Four In One alternate take
16. Criss-Cross alternate take
17. Ask Me Nowalternate take
18. Skippyalternate take
19. Hornin’ In alternate take
20. Sixteen take 1
21. Sixteen take 2
22. I'll Follow You

More products from Thelonious Monk

Thelonious Monk: Paris 1969
Thelonious Monk
Paris 1969
CD Album
US $16.99
In Stock