Lee Morgan: Cornbread (Tone Poet Series)

Cornbread (Tone Poet Series)

Lee Morgan

  • US $38.99  

  • Release Date 21 June 2019
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
Blue Note

Take a look at the sextet trumpeter Lee Morgan assembled for this epic session recorded in September 1965: Hank Mobley and Jackie McLean on tenor and alto saxophone, respectively, Herbie Hancock on piano, Larry Ridley on bass, and Billy Higgins on drums. From the funky first notes of the opening title track to the gorgeous, soon-to-be-standard “Ceora” to the hard-charging closer “Most Like Lee” Cornbread captures Morgan and everyone involved at their absolute best.

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).

Side A
1 Cornbread  
2 Our Man Higgins  
Side B
1 Ceora  
2 Ill Wind  
3 Most Like Lee