Lonnie Smith: Think!


Lonnie Smith

  • US $29.99  

  • Release Date 12 July 2019
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Blue Note

Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist David Newman, guitarist Melvin Sparks, and drummer Marian Booker Jr., with Henry "Pucho" Brown, William Bivens, and Norberto Apellaniz adding percussion on two tracks. Groove is the thing on this session from the hard-driving opener “Song of Ice Bag” written by Hugh Masekela to Doc’s laid-back original “Slouchin’” to the band’s joyful romp through Aretha Franklin’s hit “Think.”

This Blue Note 80 Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A
1 Son of Ice Bag (Hugh Masekela) - 11:15  
2 The Call of the Wild (Smith) - 12:31  
3 Think (Aretha Franklin, Ted White) - 4:46  
4 Three Blind Mice (Traditional) - 6:29  
5 Slouchin' (Smith) - 6:52