Tina Brooks: Minor Move (Tone Poet Series)

Minor Move (Tone Poet Series)

Tina Brooks

  • US $34.99  

  • Release Date 25 October 2019
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Blue Note

Recorded in 1958, Minor Move was Tina Brooks’ very first recording, though it wasn’t released until 1980, six years after his tragic death at the age of 42. In fact, Brooks’ 1960 classic True Blue was the saxophonist’s only album released during his all-too-short lifetime. Once all four of Brooks’ Blue Note albums were released his status as one of the most innovative tenor saxophone stylists in jazz has become clear. As Larry Kart notes in the album liner notes, Brooks’ sound, with its prayerful, airy and speech-like tone, sets him apart: ‘Brooks was one of those musicians for whom feeling and sound were one.’

On this set featuring two Brooks originals and three standards, the saxophonist is joined by a veritable who’s-who of hard-bop royalty with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Sonny Clark on piano, Doug Watkins on bass and Art Blakey on drums.

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).

Side A
1 A1: Nutville  
2 A2: The way you look tonight  
Side B
1 B1: Star eyes  
2 B2: Minor move  
3 B3: Everything happens to me