Bud Powell

Amazing Bud Powell, Vol. 1, 1949–51 (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 19 January, 2024

The amazing bebop piano genius Bud Powell made his most enduring recordings as a leader for Blue Note. Powell’s 1949 and 1951 quintet and trio sessions were compiled on the 12” LP The Amazing Bud Powell, Vol. 1 (BLP 1503) in 1955 featuring the pianist with the likes of Sonny Rollins, Fats Navarro, Roy Haynes and Max Roach on bebop classics including ‘Un Poco Loco’ and ‘Bouncing with Bud’.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A
1. Un Poco Loco (Alternate Take 1)
2. Un Poco Loco (Alternate Take 2)
3. Un Poco Loco
4. Dance Of The Infidels
5. 52nd Street Theme
6. It Could Happen To You

Side B
7. A Night In Tunisia (Alternate Take)
8. A Night In Tunisia 
9. Wail
10. Ornithology
11. Bouncin' With Bud
12. Parisian Thoroughfare

Vinyl LP