McCoy Tyner

Extensions (Tone Poet Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 1 December, 2023

McCoy Tyner looked to Africa on his far-reaching 1970 album Extensions, the only recorded collaboration between Tyner and Alice Coltrane who plays harp on three of the album’s four tracks—including the expansive opener ‘Message from the Nile’—along with Wayne Shorter, Gary Bartz, Ron Carter, and Elvin Jones.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.

Side A

1. Message From The Nile
2. The Wanderer

Side B
3. Survival Blues
4. His Blessings

McCoy Tyner (piano); Alice Coltrane (harp); Gary Bartz (alto sax); Wayne Shorter (soprano & tenor sax); Ron Carter (bass); Elvin Jones (drums)

Vinyl LP