Sonny Rollins

A Night At The Village Vanguard: Vinyl 3LP


Release date: 26 April, 2024

An expanded 3-LP edition of Sonny Rollins’ essential and legendary live trio album A Night At The Village Vanguard: The Complete Masters is added to Blue Note’s acclaimed audiophile vinyl series, mastered for the very first time from the original tapes.  (The first release and subsequent reissues were made from a tape transfer.)  This deluxe tri-fold edition includes a plethora of great editorial, including a new interview with Rollins in conversation with Blue Note President Don Was.  

“As we began to prepare for this album, I made my customary call to Capitol tape vault archivist Jack Arenas to inquire about the analog master tapes. Naturally, I assumed there would be a set of Rudy Van Gelder assembled 15ips analog masters of all the material. Indeed, there was, but then Jack said something that caught my ear. ‘Now there are these other tapes, but they haven’t been assembled, and they are all recorded at 7.5ips.’ I sat straight up and probably looked a bit like the mind-blown emoji. With this issue of Sonny Rollins ‘A Night At The Village Vanguard: The Complete Masters’ we are finally able to hear the actual masters that were recorded that afternoon and evening.” — Joe Harley


1. Old Devil Moon (Evening)
2. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise (Evening)
3. Striver's Row (Evening)
4. Sonnymoon For Two (Evening)
5. A Night In Tunisia (Afternoon)
6. I Can't Get Started (Evening)

1. A Night In Tunisia (Evening)
2. I've Got You Under My Skin (Afternoon)
3. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise (Evening)
4. What Is This Thing Called Love? (Evening

1. All The Things You Are (Evening)
2. Woody 'N You (Evening)
3. Four (Evening)
4. I'll Remember April (Evening)
5. Get Happy (Evening)
6. Get Happy SHORT VERSION (Evening).

Vinyl LP