Thelonious Monk

Genius of Modern Music, Volume One (Classic Vinyl Series)


The legendary pianist and composer Thelonious Monk made his earliest recordings as a leader for Blue Note in 1947–48 as heard on the 1956 12” compilation Genius of Modern Music, Volume One (BLP 1510) released as part of the 1500 series featuring timeless Monk compositions including “’Round Midnight,” “Ruby My Dear,” “In Walked Bud,” and “Well You Needn’t.” This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


A1: 'Round Midnight
A2: Off Minor
A3: Ruby My Dear
A4: I Mean You
A5: April In Paris
A6: In Walked Bud

B1: Thelonious
B2: Epistrophy
B3: Misterioso
B4: Well You Needn't
B5: Introspection
B6: Humph

Vinyl LP