Nduduzo Makhathini

uNomkhubulwane: CD


Release date: 7 June, 2024

On June 7, the visionary South African pianist, composer, philosopher, and healer Nduduzo Makhathini will release uNomkhubulwane, his stunning eleventh studio album and his third to be released on Blue Note Records following 2020’s Modes of Communication: Letters From The Underworlds and 2022’s In The Spirit Of Ntu. This deeply profound three movement work features Makhathini in a trio setting with Zwelakhe-Duma Bell le Pere on bass and Francisco Mela on drums. The music is both an offering and an invitation to humanity to cultivate ways of being that strive for freedom and balance.

1. Libations: Omnyama
2. Libations: Uxolo
3. Libations: KwaKhangelamankengana
4. Water Spirtis: Izinkonjana
5. Water Spirit: Amanxusa Asemkhathini
6. Water Spirtit: Nyoni Le?
7. Water Spirit: Iyana
8. Inner Attainment: Izibingelelo
9. Inner Attainment: Umlayez’oPhuthumayo
10. Inner Attainment: Amanzi Ngobhoko
11. Inner Attainment: Ithemba

CD Album