Horace Silver

Blowin’ The Blues Away (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 15 September, 2023

The Horace Silver Quintet of 1959 was a hard bop juggernaut featuring the pianist with trumpeter Blue Mitchell, saxophonist Junior Cook, bassist Gene Taylor & drummer Louis Hayes. Timeless originals like ‘Sister Sadie’, ‘Peace’, and the blustery title track make Blowin’ The Blues Away one of the finest entries in Silver’s formidable discography.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A

1. Blowin' The Blues Away 
2. The St. Vitus Dance
3. Break City
4. Peace

Side B
1. Sister Sadie
2. The Baghdad Blues
3. Melancholy Mood (New Version)

Vinyl LP