Jackie McLean

Bluesnik (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 17 February, 2023

Alto saxophonist Jackie McLean had the blues on his mind when he went into Van Gelder Studio in 1961 to record his hard bop masterpiece Bluesnik with a blazing quintet featuring Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, Kenny Drew on piano, Doug Watkins on bass, and Pete La Roca on drums. The six-song set of bluesy originals brims with immediacy and vibrancy. This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A
1. Bluesnik
2. Goin' 'Way Blues
3. Drew's Blues

Side B
1. Cool Green
2. Blues Function
3. Torchin'

Vinyl LP