Ike Quebec

Heavy Soul: Vinyl LP


Ike Quebec’s aptly titled 1961 album Heavy Soul was a soul jazz masterclass with the tenor saxophonist joined by Freddie Roach on organ, Milt Hinton on bass, and Al Harewood on drums. Ike’s robust horn conjures a variety of moods from up-tempo swingers to sultry slow-tempo stunners closing with a spellbinding duo rendition of “Nature Boy” with Hinton. This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A

1.           Acquitted
2.           Just One More Chance
3.           Que's Dilemma
4.           Brother Can You Spare A Dime

Side B
5.           The Man I Love
6.           Heavy Soul
7.           I Want A Little Girl
8.           Nature Boy

Vinyl LP