Joel Ross

nublues: Vinyl 2LP


Release date: 23 February, 2024

Acclaimed vibraphonist Joel Ross returns with his remarkable fourth Blue Note release nublues, an album of blues and ballads as refracted through the prism of one of the most creative modern jazz groups of our time. Communication is a key element of the album; both the communication between the musicians and the listener with an emphasis on singable melodies, as well as the profound and intuitive musical conversation that occurs within this tight-knit band featuring Immanuel Wilkins on alto saxophone, Jeremy Corren on piano, Kanoa Mendenhall on bass, Jeremy Dutton on drums, and special guest Gabrielle Garo on flute. The 10 tracks here include 7 new Ross originals as well as pieces by John Coltrane (“equinox” & “central park west”) and Thelonious Monk (“evidence”) many of which are performed as spontaneous suites with the band moving seamlessly across the blues-imbued musical terrain.

1. Joel Ross - early
2. Joel Ross - equinox
3. Joel Ross - mellowdee
4. Joel Ross ft. Gabrielle Garo - chant
5. Joel Ross – what am I waiting for?
6. Joel Ross – bach (God the Father in Eternity)
7. Joel Ross - nublues
8. Joel Ross – ya know?
9. Joel Ross – evidence
10. Joel Ross – central park west.

Vinyl LP