Joe Chambers

Samba de Maracatu


Release date: 26 February, 2021

The great drummer Joe Chambers was a stalwart presence on many of the most progressive Blue Note albums of the mid-1960s including Wayne Shorter’s Adam’s AppleBobby Hutcherson’s ComponentsFreddie Hubbard’s Breaking PointJoe Henderson’s Mode for JoeMcCoy Tyner Tender Moments, and many more. However, it wasn’t until 1998 that Chambers made his own Blue Note debut as a leader with his album Mirrors. Now the venerated drummer, percussionist, vibraphonist, and composer returns with Samba de Maracatu, a sterling set of original compositions, standards, and pieces by Shorter, Hutcherson, and Horace Silver that features pianist Brad Merritt and bassist Steve Haines with special guest vocalist Stephanie Jordan and rapper MC Parrain.



  1. You and the Night and the Music
  2. Circles
  3. Samba de Maracatu
  4. Visions
  5. Never Let Me Go
  6. Sabah el Nur
  7. Ecaroh
  8. New York State of Mind Rain
  9. Rio


CD Album