Booker Ervin

Tex Book Tenor (Tone Poet Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 1 March, 2024

Booker Ervin cut two stellar Blue Note records in the late-60s including Tex Book Tenor which had to wait until 2005 for its first standalone release. With a quintet featuring Woody Shaw, Kenny Barron, Jan Arnet, and Billy Higgins the Texas-born saxophonist slices through a set of captivating bandmember originals.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.

Side A 
1. Gichi
2. Den Tex
3. In A Capricornian Way

Side B
1. Lynn's Tune
2. 204

Booker Ervin (sax);
Woody Shaw (trumpet); Kenny Barron (piano);
Jan Arnet (bass); Billy Higgins (drums)

Vinyl LP