Jay Jay Johnson

The Eminent Jay Jay Johnson, Volume 1 (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 16 December, 2022

"Trombonist J. J. Johnson took the language of bebop and adapted it to his instrument winning the admiration of Dizzy Gillespie and Charlie Parker. After playing on Miles Davis’ first Blue Note session, Johnson led several dates in 1953–54 that were compiled on the 12” LP The Eminent Jay Jay Johnson, Vol. 1 featuring Clifford Brown, Charles Mingus, and more.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original masters, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A

1. Turnpike
2. Lover Man
3. Get Happy
4. Sketch 1
5. Capri

Side B
1. Jay
2. Old Devil Moon
3. It's You Or No One
4. Too Marvelous For Words
5. Coffee Pot

Vinyl LP