Joel Ross

The Parable Of The Poet 2LP


Release date: 20 May, 2022

Acclaimed vibraphonist and composer Joel Ross returns with his 3rd Blue Note album, The Parable of the Poet, an expansive album-length suite comprised of 7 evocative movements. The suite is performed by a dynamic 8-piece ensemble with Ross joined by Immanuel Wilkins on alto saxophone, Maria Grand on tenor saxophone, Marquis Hill on trumpet, Kalia Vandever on trombone, Sean Mason on piano, Rick Rosato on bass, and Craig Weinrib on drums. Ross debuted on Blue Note with KingMaker, which was named one of the Best Jazz Albums of 2019 by The New York Times, with NPR calling it “a signal flare for a jazz generation just hitting its stride.” His 2020 album Who Are You? further solidified Ross’ standing as one of the leading lights of the current jazz scene.


1    Prayer     
2    Guilt     
3    Choices     
4    Wail     
5    The Impetus (T0 Be And Do Better)     
6    Doxology (Hope)     
7    Benediction

Vinyl LP