Dr. Lonnie Smith

Turning Point (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 21 July, 2023

Dr. Lonnie Smith’s 1969 album Turning Point featured the organ virtuoso with a dynamic band featuring Lee Morgan on trumpet, Julian Priester on trombone, Bennie Maupin on tenor saxophone, Melvin Sparks on guitar, and the funky drummer Leo Morris (aka Idris Muhammad). Highlights include covers of “See Saw” and “Eleanor Rigby” plus soulful originals. This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A

1. Seesaw
2. Slow High
3. People Sure Act Funny

Side B
4. Eleanor Rigby
5.Turning Point

Vinyl LP