Cecil Taylor

Unit Structures (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release date: 18 August, 2023

The intrepid free jazz pianist Cecil Taylor made his Blue Note debut with the explosive 1966 album Unit Structures featuring trumpeter Eddie Gale, saxophonists Jimmy Lyons and Ken McIntyre, bassists Henry Grimes and Alan Silva, and drummer Andrew Cyrille. The four extended pieces performed here scale the pinnacle of the mid-1960s jazz avant-garde.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A

1. Steps
2. Enter Evening

Side B
3. Unit Structure/ As Of A Now/ Section
4. Tales (8 Whisps)

Vinyl LP